Anchors Away and Siren Songs

When I decided that I was going to have a sleeve dedicated to the incredible Norman Keith Collins; I had a plethora of flash that I could choose from to help make that dream come to fruition.  Adding my own twist to his timeless work; I’ve managed to complete about 90% of my arm with his iconic tattoo designs – all in an attempt to pay homage to where Western Tattooing was refined.

While Sailor Jerry; as he was fondly referred to; was not the first tattoo artist banging out what we now consider Traditional Tattoos, he was the first to start pushing the limits when it came to developing new colours and techniques that would become a stand out feature of his work.  Also notorious for his disdain of anyone with an egotistical attitude toward the art form, it was reported that he used a picture of Lyle Tuttle in his toilet after Tuttle appeared on the cover of Rolling Stone Magazine in October of 1970.

Hori Smoku
Hori Smoku

This isn’t going to be a piece dedicated to my fan girl status of old Hori Smoku either; being totally enthralled with the nautical themes and stunningly bold tattoos produced deserves a spot light.   What is notable about all of the pioneers of tattooing as we know it today is that above all else, they had the greatest respect for what they did.

Although tattooing has been plagued with controversy and unsavory characteristics long before reality TV came along, there were a hand full of those determined to cultivate an industry and style; leaving behind a legacy quickly diminishing behind a newly discovered hype.  As a collector of tattoos, I aspire to have a piece of art work permanently etched onto my skin that celebrates all of the styles of tattooing that have gained popularity and which has been forgotten or misunderstood.  One such style is what we now call Traditional or Old School tattooing.  What many forget though is that many styles that we come into contact with originated long before most saw it on a hoody or TV show; time and dedication has allowed all of these styles to grow.

Sailor Jerry Flash is defined as Traditional Tattoos
Sailor Jerry Flash is defined as Traditional Tattoos

What I now see is that so many people disregard this style of tattooing and the history of it as just an easy style to do; something that need not be noted or celebrated at all?  I couldn’t disagree more (well, I’m not sure how it rates on a scale of difficulty as I don’t tattoo, someone enlighten me please)!  There were only four colours to work with until Norman Keith Collins endeavored to develop purple which naturally lead to many more colours being developed and used today.

Stolen from the internet for explanation purposes only.
Stolen from the internet for explanation purposes only.

I don’t think that it is fair to dismiss where Westernized tattoos originated from; it is true that tattooing has come a long way since then but just as any heritage worth remembering; it deserves respect.  The likes of Ed Hardy, Lyle Tuttle, Sailor Jerry, Mike Malone and legions of others who learned, taught and loved what we cherish today.

~The Tattooed Lady

What do you think?